Prayer of Dharam Das and Satguru Kabir’s Reply

“O my Satguru! I have become exhausted searching for you, but I have not found you.
I searched in the holy places of
Rameshwar; Jagdish, Dwarka, Badrinath,
Kedarnath, Kashi, Mathura, and Ayodhya. I even searched the Girnar mountain.
I searched East, West, North and South and wandered in the world.
I searched the sixty-eight places of pilgrimage trying to find you, and could not.
I have done prayers, austerities and fasting many times, and have practiced discipline and righteous living.
But I have not seen you even in my dreams, 0 Master! What sort of luck I have!
I do not have happiness in the day and can’t sleep at night.
My whole body has become restless.
Please now give your Darshan [Vision] to
your servant Dharam Das and take him across this worldly ocean of rebirths.” (Dharam Das)

O SERVANT, where dost thou seek Me?
Lo! I am beside thee.
I am neither in temple nor in mosque:
I am neither in Kaaba nor in Kailash:
Neither am I in rites and ceremonies,
nor in Yoga and renunciation.
If thou art a true seeker,
thou shalt at once see Me:
thou shalt meet Me in a moment of time.
Kabîr says, “O Sadhu!
God is the breath of all breath.”
(Satguru Kabir)

Comments are closed.

