The Mandaean Messenger of Light

The role of the Heavenly Messenger is to give the mystic experience of LIGHT to souls and eventually guide them back up to the Place of Light, the Mandaean term for the highest heaven where the Great Life (God) resides. Here are a couple of passages from Mandaean holy books on Manda-d-Hiya — the great heavenly redeemer:

The Illuminator of the Worlds of Light

IN THE NAME OF THE GREAT LIFE,
SUBLIME LIGHT BE PRAISED

“From the Place of Light I came forth,
from you, Bright Habitation.
I come to touch hearts,
to measure and try all minds,
to see in whose heart I dwell.
Whoever thinks of me, of him I think;
whoever calls my Name, his name I will call.
Whosoever prays my prayer from the earth,
his prayer I will offer from the Place of Light.

“I came and found the truthful
and believing hearts.
When I was not dwelling among them,
yet my Name was on their lips.
I took them and guided them up
to the World of Light.

“I became the Illuminator
of the Worlds of Light.
I became a king to the Nazoreans,
who receive praise and stability
through my Name.
And by my Name they ascend
to the Place of the Light.
As for the elect righteous
who put me on as a garment,
their eyes were filled with Light,
and Manda-d-Hiya [Knowledge of Life]
was established in their hearts.”

Comments are closed.

