Master and Disciple: Kabir and Dharam Das

Dharam Das:

O my Satguru! I have become exhausted searching for you, but I have not found you.

I searched in the holy places of

Rameshwar; Jagdish, Dwarka, Badrinath,

Kedarnath, Kashi, Mathura, and Ayodhya. I even searched the Girnar mountain.

I searched East, West, North and South and wandered in the world.

I searched the sixty-eight places of pilgrimage trying to find you, and could not.

I have done prayers, austerities and fasting many times, and have practiced discipline and righteous living.

But I have not seen you even in my dreams, 0 Master! What sort of luck I have!

I do not have happiness in the day and can’t sleep at night.

My whole body has become restless.

Please now give your Darshan [Vision] to

your servant Dharam Das and take him across this worldly ocean of rebirths.

Satguru Kabir:

0 my dear devotee, where are you searching for me? I am already with you.

I am not in the places of pilgrimage or in deities, or in an isolated dwelling.

I am not in the temples and mosques, and I am not in the holy city of Kashi or Mount Kailash.

I am not in the recitation of prayers or in austerities, or in ritual fasting.

I do not dwell in rituals or in yoga, or in renunciation.

I am not in the breath or in the material body, or in the expanse of space.

I am not in the cave of the trikuti, but I am in the breath of the breath.

If you search for me you’ll find me immediately, even in a moment.

Kabir says, ‘Dear brothers, listen to me! I dwell in your faith.”

This one is from “Says Kabir…

A Collection of One Hundred and Ten Poems of Kabir,” Sushila Mahajan

Where do you look for me, dear?

I am closer than close to you.

Neither in temple-mosque am I,

nor in Kaba-Kailash,

nor in rituals, nor in yoga-ways.

Neither in goat-sheep am I,

nor in axe-knife,

nor in skin-tail,

nor in flesh and bone.

He who yearns, finds at once,

far from the crowd,

I live in a quiet refuge.

Listen to me in the void, says Kabir,

in between all the breaths.

“Songs of Kabir”,

Rabindranath Tagore

O SERVANT, where dost thou seek Me?

Lo! I am beside thee.

I am neither in temple nor in mosque:

I am neither in Kaaba nor in Kailash:

Neither am I in rites and ceremonies,

nor in Yoga and renunciation.

If thou art a true seeker,

thou shalt at once see Me:

thou shalt meet Me in a moment of time.

Kabir says, “O Sadhu! God is the breath of all breath.”

Comments are closed.

