A list of the sacred texts found within the Nag Hammadi Library of Egypt, the Gnostic Gospels


Complete list of codices found in Nag Hammadi

Codex I (also known as The Jung Foundation Codex):

The Prayer of the Apostle Paul

The Apocryphon of James (also known as the Secret Book of James)

The Gospel of Truth

The Treatise on the Resurrection

The Tripartite Tractate

Codex II:

The Apocryphon of John

The Gospel of Thomas a sayings gospel

The Gospel of Philip

The Hypostasis of the Archons

On the Origin of the World

The Exegesis on the Soul

The Book of Thomas the Contender

Codex III:

The Apocryphon of John

The Gospel of the Egyptians

Eugnostos the Blessed

The Sophia of Jesus Christ

The Dialogue of the Saviour

Codex IV:

The Apocryphon of John

The Gospel of the Egyptians

Codex V:

Eugnostos the Blessed

The Apocalypse of Paul

The First Apocalypse of James

The Second Apocalypse of James

The Apocalypse of Adam

Codex VI:

The Acts of Peter and the Twelve Apostles

The Thunder, Perfect Mind

Authoritative Teaching

The Concept of Our Great Power

Republic by Plato – The original is not gnostic, but the Nag Hammadi library version is heavily modified with then-current gnostic concepts.

The Discourse on the Eighth and Ninth – a Hermetic treatise

The Prayer of Thanksgiving (with a hand-written note) – a Hermetic prayer

Asclepius 21-29 – another Hermetic treatise

Codex VII:

The Paraphrase of Shem

The Second Treatise of the Great Seth

Gnostic Apocalypse of Peter

The Teachings of Silvanus

The Three Steles of Seth

Codex VIII:


The Letter of Peter to Philip

Codex IX:


The Thought of Norea

The Testimony of truth

Codex X:


Codex XI:

The Interpretation of Knowledge

A Valentinian Exposition, On the Anointing, On Baptism (A and B) and On the Eucharist (A and B)



Codex XII

The Sentences of Sextus

The Gospel of Truth


Codex XIII:

Trimorphic Protennoia

On the Origin of the World

The so-called “Codex XIII” is in fact not a codex, but rather the text of Trimorphic Protennoia, written on “… eight leaves removed from a thirteenth book in late antiquity and tucked inside the front cover of the sixth.” (Robinson, NHLE, p. 10) Only a few lines from the beginning of Origin of the World are discernible on the bottom of the eighth leaf.

NOTE: The Marvin Meyer translation, pictured above, also contains the Gospel of Judas, and, the Gospel of Mary Magdalene.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: